The Truth about Riley by Henrietta Clarke

18103276

 

Riley Aylworth’s life has been completely devoid of intimate contact since a fire three years ago left him with horrific facial scarring, so when he finds an ad for a phone sex service, he decides to give it a call. Except that the number is not a phone sex service—it’s the revenge Cameron Kirkwood’s ex-boyfriend took on the uptight advertising executive after Cam forgot their anniversary and accidentally put him in the hospital. Needless to say, after thirty-nine disturbing calls seeking phone sex, Cameron is at the end of his tether and yells at his fortieth caller. What he doesn’t expect is for Riley to hit redial and yell right back.

The argument helps both Cameron and Riley vent about their issues, and when they’ve calmed down, they decide to exchange numbers and talk again. From this decision springs a friendship that, over time, grows into a gentle romance—all over the phone, because Riley is too scared to meet Cam in person. Showing a potential boyfriend his disfigured face is the fastest way to get rejected, right? Even a month of scorching hot phone sex can’t change his mind, no matter how hard Cam tries to persuade him that with their phone chemistry, the sex would be so much better in person.

Meanwhile, Cam is haunted by the scarred blond he seems to be seeing everywhere, and Riley can’t get the handsome brunet who always seems happy to see him out of his mind. It’s a shock to both men to realise that the guy they’re falling for over the phone is also the man who brightens their day with just a smile; but it’s one thing to let a stranger smile at you and quite another to let him close enough to see into your soul. If Riley can’t break down the walls in his mind and believe that Cameron loves him in spite of his scars, their relationship may be doomed before they’ve even had a chance to kiss.

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.ca/Truth-About-Riley-Henrietta-Clarke-ebook/dp/B00DUH9P24/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1384818109&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Truth+about+Riley

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5 STARS

5 STARS

5 STARS

DID YOU HEAR ME??????

5 OMG I WANT TO CRAWL INSIDE THIS BOOK AND NEVER EVER EVER LEAVE IT STARS

THIS BOOK MADE ME….. IT MADE ME FEEL SOO MUCH! FEEL SOO MUCH FEELINGS… I FELT EVERYTHING.

EVERY.SINGLE.SOLITARY.FEELING.

Riley is scarred, damaged, burnt, scared, alone. So when he finds a # for a sex line he calls and what he gets is way more than he could have ever imagined. 

7410b3fbaab6b531104ea20c4269992d

Cam is alone, a workaholic, funny, charismatic

e0ecbcee1f9f0478ca833478ea8f1fa7

The chance encounters made my heart weep…. weep. With joy, with hurt, with pain, with love, with want, with anticipation. IT MADE ME FEEL HOPE

“Ah, but that’s the thing about hope, Riley-it can survive in the face of absolutely abysmal odds.. It has no rhyme or reason, and you have no control over my hope. The only person who can dash my hope is me, when I decide to give up on you. So you can hang up on me right now and tell me never to call you again, and I’ll keep on hoping. 

179084_151839841537423_100001342241835_270238_8242598_n

BUTTERFLIES.FROM.PAGE.1.TILL.THE.END

I COULD NOT READ ANOTHER BOOK AFTER THIS ONE. I NEEDED A BIT TO COME TO GRIPS WITH THE FACT THAT THE RIDE WAS OVER…. FOR NOW…. BUT I WILL GET TO THAT

THE WORDS WRITTEN IN THIS BOOK, THE CONVERSATIONS, THE INTIMACY, WILL EAT AT YOUR SOUL. EAT.AT.IT

“There’s something about lying in the dark with someone baring your soul, you know? I think, in a way, it’s my safe place. If I’ve had this conversation, then when the walls start closing in, I can shut my eyes and I’m safe in the dark, knowing I’m not alone because there’s someone else’s voice right there with me. I don’t think there’s anything in this world more lonely than light and silence.”

THEIR 1ST DATE, HANDS DOWN THE SWEETEST MOST AMAZING THING EVER. EVER. EVER

THE FIRST KISS! OMG! THE FIRST KISS STOLE MY BREATH AWAY

“Close your eyes,” he murmured, breath and words caressing Cam’s ear, and Cam shuddered as he complied….. ‘His hand went to Riley’s back, pulling the man closer, and he deepened the kiss just slightly. Riley came willingly, opening under Cameron’s mouth in a silent, sobbing desperation that called to Cam’s own. His cheeks were damp, and he didn’t know of the tears were his or Riley’s. Maybe both. It didn’t matter. All that mattered-all that existed-was the man in his armsm and if this was the only chance he would ever get to kiss Riley, then he never wanted to stop’

EPIC… EPIC…..FUCKING EPIC!!!!!!!

THE ENDING OF THIS BOOK WAS MY UNDOING. I WAS AT MY NEPHEW’S TOURNAMENT, WAITING FOR HIM TO FIGHT, AND I WAS SITTING ON THE GROUND WITH TEARS STREAMING DOWN MY FACE. STREAMING.DOWN.MY.FACE

IMAGINE FINALLY MAKING LOVE TO THE MAN OF YOUR DREAMS, YOUR WHOLE WORLD, WRAPPED UP IN HIM AND ALL YOU HAVE IN THE SENSE OF FEEL AND SMELL AND TOUCH. IMAGINE. THIS WAS WHERE I COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY FELL APART. IMAGINE LOVING A MAN SO MUCH THAT YOU WOULD DO ANYTHING FOR HIM, EVEN COVER YOUR EYES WHEN ALL YOU WANNA DO IS STARE IN THEM. 

AND THEN….. IT HAPPENS…. AND THEN…. THE END

OMG OMG OMG I CANNOT BELIEVE IT ENDED THIS WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I.CANNOT.BELIEVE!

Henrietta, please be nice to me and make book 2 come in early 2014. PLEASE. HEAR MY PRAYERS

READ.THIS.BOOK.NOW

READ IT

Mare~Slitsread

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Truth about Riley by Henrietta Clarke

  1. Pingback: Launch Day! A Home For Christmas by Ann Vaughn | The Literary Syndicate

Leave a comment